Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Carpe Noctem
311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:D I got the second to last piece on my bike today, a 2007 Fox 36 Van RC2. I'm moving up from a Psylo Race that was a decent fork once upon a time but doesn't hold a candle to this fork. It made a major difference in the way the bike rides and the rear suspension seems a lot more active with the slightly more upright position despite the sag being the same. I fell in love with the bike all over again. Between the fork and the new wheels with Hope Pro 2 hubs DT 14/15 spokes and DT EX 5.1 rims the bike gained 40 mm of travel and lost half a pound...Awesome...I'll clean it up and take some pics saturday!

·
Carpe Noctem
311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think it rides better this way too. '07 indeed...I work in a shop so I can/have to order direct from fox and I can't talk about what I paid for it. Comparing the options between R and RC2 to the retail price difference I can't see why anyone wouldn't save just a little bit longer and get the RC2. My buddy with the camera said tomorrow works so I should have some pics up tomorrow.

·
Carpe Noctem
311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am, 6'2 with a ~35" inseam. I looked long and hard at that DUC32 but wanted to stick with the single crown. How Do you like the Maverick? I've been told it doesn't have any significan effect on how far you can turn the bars.

·
Registered
110 Posts
OnTheMoment said:
I am, 6'2 with a ~35" inseam. I looked long and hard at that DUC32 but wanted to stick with the single crown. How Do you like the Maverick? I've been told it doesn't have any significan effect on how far you can turn the bars.
No problem at all with the reduced steering lock. Because the fork legs are offset forward at the crowns, you can still turn the bars close to 90 degrees. It's never been an issue on the trail.