Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I want to build up a m 29er and i narrowed my choice to these 2 brands.

What would be the better option? I have no experience with 29ers. I made a quick spin on the moots and i liked it from the moment i saw it.

I think the moots in a 20" size looks good and feels good to. The problem with the IF is that you build/buy the bike from a drawing without seeing the end result.

I am 6.2 tall and weight 200 pounds.

What would you do?

Cheers Fatboy.

·
EXORCIZE
2,222 Posts
fatboy66 said:
The problem with the IF is that you build/buy the bike from a drawing without seeing the end result.
IF's custom geometry would almost certainly result in superior fit and riding characteristics. The only problem is the upcharge for it, and possibly a longer wait. That said, the fact that you've ridden the 20" and that your weight is average for your height does make you good candidate for the Moots stock size.

Btw, both companies are top-tier custom houses and have their advocates, so your question may not yield a clear answer. I think here in America, its a west coast/east coast company image/style choice as much as anything else.

·
Registered
356 Posts
Don't sweat the fit at all. I've had 2 custom bikes from Blacksheep and one from Seven. The fit process is pretty dialed in with companies nowadays. After I filled out the questionnaire with my measurements told them if I was using a straight or laid back post, they asked what size stem, and how many spacers I planned on using under the stem. When I got all of the frames, it was amazing to me that they fit perfectly with the exact stem length, spacers, and saddle in the center of the rails. They were the easiest builds I ever did, no guess work. They even will tell you how much seatpost you'll show (or you can specify how much), it's a great process.