Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Content from my avatar
4,355 Posts
I like Fireball, the whiskey.

As for the bike, it's a dirt-jump bike. If that's what you want, it doesn't look too bad. Not too great, but it'll work.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'm into XC but I'm new to this area so I haven't tried the trails. I've had lots of experience on trails in other parts of Florida. I'm all over the place because I've been searching CL for a bike instead of getting something from walmart.

·
29ers Forever
2021 Rocky Mountain Altitude A70
3,603 Posts
I'm into XC but I'm new to this area so I haven't tried the trails. I've had lots of experience on trails in other parts of Florida. I'm all over the place because I've been searching CL for a bike instead of getting something from walmart.
The bikes you have been looking at would be absolutely terrible on Florida singletrack trails. You want something with 29" wheels, 80-100mm of travel with no rear suspension. Like this bike: X-Caliber 5 - Trek Bicycle.
And it costs less than that DH bike (Jamis) you were looking at.

·
29ers Forever
3,603 Posts

·
Rogue Exterminator
4,951 Posts
You can search CL without being all over the place.
Both bikes selected would be horrible for XC.

There are some pretty decent trails in Central Florida but I see you are in Miami now. I don't know of anything in Miami that would make me want an actual mountain bike.
Assuming that you are set on an actual mountain bike though, I would look at a hard tail 29er. I also would not rule out a cyclocross bike if you don't plan on occasionally traveling at least to places like Santos. I would also go single speed. I mean seriously why would anyone want gears down there?

·
Rogue Exterminator
4,951 Posts
I live in Gainesville now.
Ok, when it comes to mountain biking that makes a huge difference and actually makes sense to get a mountain bike.

Go see the guys over at Greenway Bikes in Ocala.