Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to modify a 98/99 Ground Control very similar to this, http://cgi.ebay.com/Specialized-Gro...categoryZ98083QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting, except it has a normal stem. I'll try to get a pic of mine up soon.

I would like to know some info on the bike. How long is the travel front and rear, what are some good replacment forks and shocks, any info on the deraiullers(sp?), stuff like that. I am pretty new to the mechanical side of mountain bike(although I've been riding since I was 10) and this seems like a good starting bike(cuz its not my everyday bike).

Also, what would be a good place to start. And any info on losing some weight would be nice (this is one heavy sucker). And also this bike is pretty much for screwing around on, it can't be too expensive.

Thanks

·
noMAD man
12,220 Posts
I had one. It has 3" of travel in the rear. What travel it has in the front depends entirely on the fork installed on it. That fork in the ebay pic looks like a RS Judy of some kind...usually 2.5"--3" travel. The rear shock was usually a RS Deluxe. This bike actually worked quited well. It's a Mac-strut/Horst design, and although a little noodly in the lateral flex department, it functioned very well. That's the craziest stem/bar setup I've seen in awhile.

·
Registered
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Looking closer to the one in the pic I noticed that mine has an air spring, not a coil. Also I was wondering if it is even possible to change the rear shock cuz instead of the lower eye, there is a diffenet connection. Yes I did notice its a bit noodly when riding it. The rear shock is also way to soft for me, pogo galore.

·
Registered
22 Posts
97 Specialized Ground Control A1