Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A little background first:

I'm a relative NOOB to mtn biking. Bought an entry level hardtail 2 summers ago and have since done a couple of basic upgrades: better mech disc brakes, tires, suspension seatpost, etc... Weekend warrior, slow, could lose 15 lbs. Fairly good technical rider, though. You get the picture. So I'm pushing this 34 pound hardtail around Arizona and everybody is telling me to upgrade to a better bike. First thoughts were a better, lighter hardtail. I mean, keep it old school - right? Then I figure I should check out full suspension bikes.

Started reading about full suspension bikes and fell in love with the Yeti. Share the joy with riding buddies and damned if three of the guys I ride with don't end up buying the 575. My problem: cost. Don't even remember how I got to looking at IronHorse, but I did. Intrigued by the DW-Link, and explore further. Like what I'm hearing. Happen across an '05 MkIII expert frame on Ebay and land it for 300 bucks. It sits in my house for about 6 months. In the meantime, I'm on closeout special patrol duty. Shopping a combination of Jenson, Pricepoint, Bluesky, etc... I FINALLY end up with the following build:

Marzocchi AM SL 130-150 fork
Mavic 317/XT hubs wheelset
XT M760 crankset
SRAM PG 990 11-34 cassette
PC 991 hollowpin chain
X9 trigger shifters/rear derailleur
XGen front derailleur
Avid BB7 mech disc brakes
cheapie stem/bars/grips
tires/pedals/saddle/brake levers from the hardtail

Total damage: 1,563.78

Feeling pretty good about everything until I get back in these forums to re-educate myself about the shock setup. Come across all the loose linkage/shock play posts and start to cringe. Force myself to stay focused: take detailed setup notes (thanks yogreg in particular) and screw around with sag for an evening. Set it up and wait for morning....

Maiden voyage: