Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Tenya Laybacker
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding again last year after a fifteen year hiatus. My last mtb was an 82' stumpjumper. I now have a 05' SJ FSR expert. I love the bike and have started to ride a lot more technical terrain. Often wet, rooty , ladders, skinnys and steep. The adreniline tires that came with the bike are a bit worn down and have acouple of broken knobs. I have liked the tires ,but I don't have much to compare them to. I have noticed that the rear slips out somtimes on super steep climbs and on wet roots and logs. The front has started to slip out on really steep off camber decents. They roll really well at 35lbs ,but are slow at 28lbs.
I was thinking of getting the Kenda Nevagel as a replacment. 2.35 stick-e front and 2.1 DTC rear. What do you think. Should I go 2.35 stick-e all around? What other tires would fit me . I am 165lbs in gear and ride mostly in the PNW.

Thanks for looking.

·
Registered
6,843 Posts
old crank said:
I started riding again last year after a fifteen year hiatus. My last mtb was an 82' stumpjumper. I now have a 05' SJ FSR expert. I love the bike and have started to ride a lot more technical terrain. Often wet, rooty , ladders, skinnys and steep. The adreniline tires that came with the bike are a bit worn down and have acouple of broken knobs. I have liked the tires ,but I don't have much to compare them to. I have noticed that the rear slips out somtimes on super steep climbs and on wet roots and logs. The front has started to slip out on really steep off camber decents. They roll really well at 35lbs ,but are slow at 28lbs.
I was thinking of getting the Kenda Nevagel as a replacment. 2.35 stick-e front and 2.1 DTC rear. What do you think. Should I go 2.35 stick-e all around? What other tires would fit me . I am 165lbs in gear and ride mostly in the PNW.

Thanks for looking.