Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an Ironhorse Hollowpoint Sport. I don't know how this happened, the only thing I can think of is a little while ago I took some things apart and I must have lost this. I didn't think I took apart my rear suspension though.

After feeling a slight thump whenever my rear suspension compressed, I looked all through my bike to see what was the issue. I realized I'm missing a whole bearing where the back fork joins with the rear suspension. I'm rather new to biking so I can't describe this very well. Pictures will be best:

This is what it should be (my right side):

This is my left side. Notice how the bolt already started scraping down the frame. This is where I curse to myself #$#$. I know, I should have caught this earlier:

My only excuse is I'm still learning how to maintain my bike, I haven't been riding for very long :(

My question is this: Is this a standard bearing, one that I can get in this set:
https://www.enduroforkseals.com/id73.html

or is it a more customized type of bearing that I'll have to call ironhorse for?

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
okonomiyaki_oishi said:
y question is this: Is this a standard bearing, one that I can get in this set:
http://www.enduroforkseals.com/id73.html
or is it a more customized type of bearing that I'll have to call ironhorse for?
That's the right bearing set. Chris put it together when I asked if he could supply me with a set of bearings for my '04 Hollowpoint.

Was the bolt still attached? If so, how on earth did the bearing disappear?

Hmm... that bearing that you lost? Those were the most difficult bearings to remove of the lot. Putting it back in isn't too bad though. I posted a summary of how to do it a while back. Do a search. Let me know if you have trouble finding it.

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
okonomiyaki_oishi said:
J