Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just wanted to let Shimano know that I am really interested in the new 12 speed XT group. I have been running Shimano drive trains on my MTB's for over 26 years. So I have been a loyal customer...

Problem is, I run Chris King hubs and they have not been licensed to make and sell a micro spline free hub. I have talked with a customer rep at CK and they want to do micro spline, but are not allowed.

So what is a a loyal customer to both brands to do?

Well I have 2 sets of nice custom wheels with Chris King hubs, so...

Please do the right thing Shimano, and let the rest of us continue to be loyal customers to you.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
One has to wonder what the issue is---is there one between the 2 companies as others like I9 are good to go-we do not know--Chris King says no but that means little-and for sure what a customer service rep says is not of much value--is Chris King not willing to pay---who knows--also could be Shimano wants to slow role to avoid another fiasco like they just had with their XTR--or they want to limit the mfg's for some reason-or is Chris King such a small hub maker for Shimano that they feel they are not worth the partnership--no doubt they are doing what they feel is best for their business--could prove right or wrong---details of which we are not privy to and we may not like the result at this point or may never.

Reminds me of all the anger at Pivot going to 157 and leaving all the folks with 148 wheels behind--or before folks going to 148 from 142----we can argue the differences but in the end these are for profit businesses doing what they feel maximizes profit and loyalty only concerns them if it maximizes profit

·
Registered
Alive So Go For A Ride
725 Posts
So!
I have talked to Shimano about the new Micro Spline freehub available.

So Shimano are busy 1st approving OEM hubs