Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Ex mxer
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read a thread somewhere on this site that contained a general rule of thumb to determine if a bikes effective top tube length is roughly correct. I have searched and cant find it again. It stated something about the length being correct if the handle bar hid the front axle from view. I am imagining things or just overlooking it. Any help here would be appreciated.
I have tried out a 18" Trek 3700 and 4300 both felt decent though their respective geometries were slightly different. I also rode both a 17" and 19" Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc, I could definitely tell a difference in them, the 17" felt better though the 19" didn't feel bad.
I have been riding motorcycles since 1985 and have about six years of amatuer motocross experience. I tend to get into my normal, bent elbows, head over the bars, racer's tuck and some of the bikes' axles are visible behind the bars, while some were hidden by the bars. I am used to sliding forward on a bike to weight the front end in turns and am not used to being more limited in my body positioning as on a bicycle.
I do realize that stems with different heights and or lengths, as well as flat or low rise bars will affect the body position.
My mountain bike experience started (don't laugh) with a Murray Baja back in 1983 or 1984 when I was a kid. In 1992 I picked up a 20" or 21' Ross Mt. Rainier with street wheels on it while attending MMI in Orlando. My last mtb was a 19" 1999 Raleigh M80 that was used for fitness while i was still racing mx.
I am 5'9" with a 32" inseam with no shoes on and an average length torso, In dress shirts I wear a 32/33 sleeve.
I am getting back into bicycles now that my son and daughter have gotten old enough to ride themselves. I want to get something that will be good for bike paths now and later trails when the kiddos get older. Thanks in advance.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
excr125rracer said: