Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a Timbuk2 messenger bag(large) to replace my backpack. It feels a little akward and I wonder if it is because it is a large?? I carry a laptop, chain/lock, and some books. Does anyone use a medium? Is there another style that fits more snug?

(I may take it back and use my backpack)

over-n-out

·
Category Winner
6,138 Posts
Have you cinched the shoulder strap?

Alot of newbies working around here will wear their bags low on their backs. It moves alot less when you have it cinched so it rides higher up. If you can swing it around and dig into the bag easily w/o loosening the strap it is probably too loose.

·
Registered
4,079 Posts
Jandd Gabriel bag

I've been using a Jandd Gabriel messenger bag for about 14 years. It holds a lap top perfectly. It has an awesome waist strap to keep the load secured. It has all the right compartments and is expandable to immense proportions. I highly recommend it. I've tried Timbuk 2 and while they look cool and stylish, they just don't fit me all that well on the bike.

·
Registered
553 Posts
I use a chrome bag. The old kozmo edition. It is a large bag, and I can carry plenty in it (laptop, books, clothes, lunch, shoes). When I was looking to purchase a messenger style bag, one of the manufacturers suggested that messenger bags work better when they are not packed full, so I am not sure that a smaller bag will maksolve your fit problem.

When My bag is packed light it is hardly noticeable on my back. Like Teamdicky said, wear it high. Cinch the strap as much as you can and still feel comfortable. The chrome bag has a stabilizer strap that also helps secure the bag.

I have found my bag very comfortable and stable for a 7 mile commute. I have ridden with it off road before (my alternate commute), and it worked well on the trails too.

·
Registered
4,012 Posts
Messenger bags