Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From one of the other threads on this site I noticed that there are a lot of Mechanical Engineers here. I'm just about to start my 3rd of 4 years for my BS in Mechanical Engineering. I am going to start researching interships for next summer now. So where have you guys interned that you really liked? Any ME's in the bicycle industry read these forums. Anything else you think will help me out would be greatly apprechiated.

Thanks,
Ken

Oh, by the way I go to school at FL Tech in Melbourne, FL. I have pleanty of other places I could go for the summer.

·
Sconie
52 Posts
I did three summers on internship at Kimberly-Clark. It was ok but not really what i wanted to do full time so after graduation i passed up an offer with them for a job at a small Marine
Engineering firm. I would say it was a very good experience and the experience made finding a job easier when i graduated.

·
The Quimby!
366 Posts
G'day Kmandevi :) . I thought you were located in Melbourne Australia! It seems that the requirements for internships (work experience :confused:) is less stringent in Australia. We were only required to do 60 days of work placement for our degree. Most of my mates found placements in small manufacturing companies. Many of these people were offered continuing employment after their initial placement, and they are thus working at the same time as completing their final year of study.

I personally worked for 7 years as an Aircraft Mechanic before I started university. I thus used this experience as the basis for my work experience requirements. Perhaps you should ring some of the airlines at your local airport and ask for a placement with their engineering department? You are sure to enjoy being around these machines given the degree you are currently studying.

·
Registered
23,381 Posts