Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am <135lbs, race XC. Just bought some crossmax SLs.

Am looking to get maxxis crossmark for them. Folks have suggested putting the regular (non-LUST) tires on. If I do this, do I want the eXCeption compound or the regular?

How durable is the eXCeption? I don't ride that many miles, less than 600 a year, I would say, on the mtb. (That's sad, I know, but I just can't take the beating.)

I have a backup wheelset now (non-UST) I could use to save my race tires but I'd rather just race what I ride all the time, unless that's totally stupid. Advice is appreciated, I am a novice (if that isn't obvious already).

·
Registered
39 Posts
eXCeption Differences

For the type of use you are looking for, I would say that the eXCeption is the way to go. The softer compound will offer better traction and you will save 40g per tire. Also, the eXCeption is a 120 tpi, so it will be a more supple casing that will provide a better feel and better traction. The only trade-off is wear time since the softer compound won't last as long, but I don't find that there is a very drastic difference.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I have used the Maxxis Mimo Exception-good tire but I found that accidental rear skids with discs would quickly wear the nubs off the tire.The 120 tpi casing rides very well-plusher at the same inflation as other tires I have used.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
KnobbyToes said:
I am <135lbs, race XC. Just bought some crossmax SLs.

Am looking to get maxxis crossmark for them. Folks have suggested putting the regular (non-LUST) tires on. If I do this, do I want the eXCeption compound or the regular?

How durable is the eXCeption? I don't ride that many miles, less than 600 a year, I would say, on the mtb. (That's sad, I know, but I just can't take the beating.)