Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've scowered the net but can't find the info. Maybe I'm blind.

Are Maxxis 29er tyres, particularly the Ikon and Aspen, 'tubeless ready'? Ie. do they have a UST bead to seat well with UST rims or is it just a standard bead?

I'm new to 29ers and have read the tyre threads. The only tyres I could get my hands on for the initial build was an S-works Renegade. Light and fast but paper thin and as expected I put a rock through one. For a 2.0-2.1, UST bead, not paper thin/some side wall protection, sub 600 grams tyre is my only option really the Racing Ralph Snakeskin?

·
Always Learning
9,607 Posts
I've scowered the net but can't find the info. Maybe I'm blind.

Are Maxxis 29er tyres, particularly the Ikon and Aspen, 'tubeless ready'? Ie. do they have a UST bead to seat well with UST rims or is it just a standard bead?

I'm new to 29ers and have read the tyre threads. The only tyres I could get my hands on for the initial build was an S-works Renegade. Light and fast but paper thin and as expected I put a rock through one. For a 2.0-2.1, UST bead, not paper thin/some side wall protection, sub 600 grams tyre is my only option really the Racing Ralph Snakeskin?
Maxxis makes the UST tires in two flavors for 29"ers. Crossmark LUST 2.1 and Ardent LUST 2.25. You can find these at Maxxis.

·
Registered
10,039 Posts
Non S-Works Speccy tires, i.e. the "Control" models, have thicker sidewalls with some cut protection and still retain the UST bead. The Renegade Control still hits the sub 600g mark too.

Schwalbe tubeless ready tires don't technically have a UST bead. I don't know exactly what the design differences are though.

Bontrager tubeless ready tires have a UST bead and I believe they have some good lightweight XC options