Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding a 2001 Truth for about 3 years now and really like it for the most part but the dang thing keep breaking. I am not into freeriding and I only weigh 165 lbs. It is my only mountain bike so it sees alot of miles (~3,000/yr.) and a fair amount of racing (all XC). I recently moved up to racing expert class and seem to be able to hold mid-pack or slightly better (will definitely be better next year). I will likely build up a light hardtail for the smoother races (Sea Otter, Granite Bay) here in northern CA but still need a bike that is reasonable to race the rest of the courses (Northstar, Downieville, maybe Cool, etc.).

So I need a new bike for general trail riding, epic stuff, and training -- actually probably the vast majority of my off road riding needs. When I purchased my Truth, I also strongly considered the ML7 but it was just too expensive back then and had other issues that have mostly been addressed (except the integrated headset, cable routing, funky front derailleur situation -- I hate Rollamajigs).

My Truth is an honest 22.5 pounds when set up with light race tires and the ML7 can be built the same, so weight really isn't an issue. I will actually probably build it about a half pound heavier to eliminate some weak points in my current build (mainly ISIS BB). Ride quality is an important issue since I do tend to spend too much time out of the saddle (back pain relief). I am also a strong climber. My biggest weakness is probably descending.