Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just ordered an Airborne Taka DH rig with stock 888 RV forks. Their double crown, 200mm travel, and have rebound adjustment. It's my first real DH bike, so I'm not that familiar with these forks. I have ridden the iron horse yakuza kumicho at mt. Snow, and it's basically the same bike, except it had Super T forks, not 888's. They felt good to me, but I'm a noob. I haven't heard great things about these 888 RV's, but will they still feel plush and smooth? People on the Internet tend to bash on anything that's not top of the line, so I'm asking for a realistic, honest, and straightforward opinion on the 888 RV. Ive heard people say there horrible, but their still 888's. How bad can they be? Thanks.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Yeah there gonna be smooth but there is only rebound adjustment on the fork. Just ride it for awhile then upgrade to better fork. There's nothing wrong with it it's just it's gonna give you crazy pedal bop and it might be hard to fine sweet spot to make the fork feel good.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Yeah there gonna be smooth but there is only rebound adjustment on the fork. Just ride it for awhile then upgrade to better fork. There's nothing wrong with it it's just it's gonna give you crazy pedal bop and it might be hard to fine sweet spot to make the fork feel good.
Do you know, by chance, how the 888RV's compare to the old Super T's?

·
Moose Member
2,195 Posts
i dunno, but my dad has an 04 888 on his bike, and it is smooth as butter. I rode it when i was a noob and it felt great, especially over the rocky stuff. If you havent ridden many big bikes anything will feel awesome at first, dont worry bout it.

i bet it feels better than super t's, theres a reason 888s replaced super ts

·
Registered
466 Posts