Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and just purchased a Iron Horse 7point7 and have several questions on set-uping the Marzocchi 66 RC2X that came on it.

I'm 190lbs, ride in hardpack desert (SW Idaho) predominately. Want a plush but responsive ride. Speeds no faster than 20mph and drops 6' max.

1. What is the stock spring weight in the forks, and is it to light for my weight? If so, what spring should I go to?

2. How much sag should I be set-up for (recognize the springs will do this).

3. The forks have air valves on each leg, is this to set pre-load vs new spring or set set the ride characteristics?

4. How much, if any, air should I have in each leg (currently set at 0psi)?

Thanks in advance for your help:thumbsup:

·
Registered
9,520 Posts
I weigh 195lb. Run Belray 7wt. oil no air all compression backed off. There are no additional spring rates, air assist only. Set your rebound and take it for a spin w/ no air or compression then adjust as needed.

·
Natural body armor
2,178 Posts
abibb said:
I'm a newbie and just purchased a Iron Horse 7point7 and have several questions on set-uping the Marzocchi 66 RC2X that came on it.

I'm 190lbs, ride in hardpack desert (SW Idaho) predominately. Want a plush but responsive ride. Speeds no faster than 20mph and drops 6' max.

1. What is the stock spring weight in the forks, and is it to light for my weight? If so, what spring should I go to?

2. How much sag should I be set-up for (recognize the springs will do this).

3. The forks have air valves on each leg, is this to set pre-load vs new spring or set set the ride characteristics?

4. How much, if any, air should I have in each leg (currently set at 0psi)?

Thanks in advance for your help:thumbsup:
I recommend you start reading the manual right away, before using your new bike.
If it didn't come with the bike you can download it from Marzocchi