Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, so I work as a bike messenger in Helsinki and the winters can be quite... salty. And grimy. And gritty.

This has lead to my work bike bottom bracket seizing completely in the shell, both cups. I tried all the usual stuff, soaking in WD-40, bolting on the BB tool, using a long breaker bar but no luck. Or bad luck, actually, as all I managed to do was strip the teeth on both sides of the BB completely. Tool took'em straight off when bolted down and forced enough with the breaker bar.

As far as I can see my only option to salvage the frame is to somehow cut the BB out of the shell. It's a square taper sealed cartridge unit, and I've already managed to get the axle out, but I'm a bit lost for ideas on how to actually get the shell out. The metal is so hard that a hacksaw doesn't even scrape it. Any ideas would be appreciated!

I got some small grinding bits for the dremel, update with pictures coming tonight!

·
Registered
24,083 Posts
Did you try heat, as in from a torch? Assuming this is a steel frame, applying some heat would/could help break away the rust that's formed. How did you apply the WD-40, did you just try spraying it from the outside or did you use the BB hole and really saturate it to work itsef out? Also, while WD-40 can work somewhat, a spray/lube that is actually designed to help "unstick" stuck parts would be much better.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·