Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Freelance Whatever
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wonder about the mamasita also...

because it seems like an awesome ride, but the scandium/carbon joint seems like a defininte point of failure to me. I know that the clear coat cracks after a few rides, but that is just part of the rear taking the edge off of things. As for wheels, I have a set of the Crossmax29ers and they seem to be holding up to my girth (250 w/gear) but I guess they should for the price.

·
1,113 Posts
I am new to 29ers and scandium/carbon bikes. Ever since seeing a frame break in half in a XC race made me even more of a steel is real diehard.

While ago saw a friend riding a 29 SS and he was raving about it. I wanted to try it out.

I was able to borrow a mamasita.

The mamasita is built up as a rigid SS.

Nice bike, this thing is a rocketship and doesn't beat me to death like an aluminum frame'd hardtail.

Has made me consider one or wait until the selma comes out next year.

I weigh 210 with gear and was wondering how other think the bike would hold up?

Any heavier riders riding a mamasita? How is it holding up for you?

Also if you don't mind sharing what you find has been a stiff 29 wheel for you

Any breakage reported?

Thanks for your time, any feedback is appreciated.

·
1,113 Posts
chowdownca said:
because it seems like an awesome ride, but the scandium/carbon joint seems like a defininte point of failure to me. I know that the clear coat cracks after a few rides, but that is just part of the rear taking the edge off of things. As for wheels, I have a set of the Crossmax29ers and they seem to be holding up to my girth (250 w/gear) but I guess they should for the price.
Just found out. Should be no problem.

Ted from www.twentynineinches.com states he is 240 so should be 250 w gear.

Do you notice the crossmax's are flexy?

If I really push into a berm hard and fast the rear wheel flexes and the tire rubs.

·