Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

As a Jersey resident I still haven't been up to Diablo (Im at the other end of the state) & probably won't get there for another month or so...life has just been very hectic.

Anyhow, I would like to make it up there a couple times before the end of the season, but I'm not sure if my bike can handle it, so I could use a little advice here.

I'm about 220 or so w/ gear & not very experienced w/ jumping & drops so I'd likely be taking it fairly easy & would be going w/ another beginner.

My bike:
Here's the most recent pic, although some things have changed & I have some parts ready to go on:

'04 Haro X2
Fork - Marz EXR Pro - 120mm
Rear Shock - Fox Vanilla R - 6" Travel
Brakes - Hayes Mags
Wheels - Sun Hill Rod, standard QR, Blue Groove & Nevegal tires both 2.35
Crankset - FSA Alpha Drive w/ Bash - (have Hussefelts to replace these)
Front D - Sram XGen, Rear D - Sram X.9, X.9 Triggers
Bars/Stem - Husselfelt DH & Generic 31.8 50mm Stem

Biggest concern is the fork/wheels. I'd like to budget about $500 +/- for fork/wheels.

I could pick up a used Jr. T pretty cheap, but that would be way overkill for the rest of the local trails I ride plus would suck going uphill. I was thinking about a Pike (although this will be a bit hard to swing money-wise) or maybe Flick as I'd be able to use them at local spots. The wheels as well would likely have to go, atleast the front to a 20mm, so I'm thinking Outlaws or maybe find a used front wheel.

What are your thoughts? Anything else I should be concerned about? Any reccomendations on tires? Should I even bother or would I have more fun on one of their rentals?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thx,

Mark

·
I like air!
915 Posts
The fork really only the weak point for Diablo. You could upgrade it for Diablo but then it would be overkill for most trail riding.

·
Freeriding Feline
2,548 Posts