Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been rocking a pair of HS-33's for over three years now. They've always provided me with great power and modulation, but as any owner can tell you, they're not too fun to setup.

Anyway, eventually the rear (steel) booster broke. This happened because I shaved part of it down a hair in an attempt to gain more clearance between the booster and the tire. Realizing my mistake, I ordered a new pair of Magura specific boosters - this time CNC machined aluminum ones. They've held up quite well, though there is only maybe 2mm of space between the booster and the tire. Consequently, because my wheels are not 100% true, they occasionally rub.

I'd been thinking about upgrading to the Evo2 system for some time and decided I'd finally go for it; thinking that I might like to upgrade to some bigger tires in the future. Well, I ordered the adapter kits and they arrived promptly. Unfortunately, the boosters were not included. I have since called Magura USA and they will be shipping me the boosters seperately on Tuesday. A little irritating, but whatever.

So anyway, I decided to go ahead and install the front brake without the booster. It seems the addition of the mounting plate forces both of the booster bolts into a fixed position (which is great!), however I'm still skeptical I'm not going to have much tire clearance with the new booster on. Judging from the picture on Magura's website (english), I'm skeptical. Has it been redesigned to allow for more clearance? They are advertised as being able to fit a 2.5" tire....but is that WITH the booster or not?

My wheelset is decent and in good shape, otherwise I probably would have pushed for discs, but I'm still very nervous I've made a poor decision. Clearly I should have researched these adapters more before purchasing, but I feel I've been slightly misled by the information on the website.