Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
j.k.livin
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How's it going everyone! First thread so feel free to share away...I have been pondering for the last 2 months about building a new FS for myself. I have been doing some research on Pivot and after getting the opportunity to demo a Mach 5.7 from the great guys at SMC, I came to the conclusion it was the bike for me.

I really wanted to build the carbon, but after the demo ride, I realized I didn't want to wait. I know for a lot of people I read on here they're not to keen on the graphics..I happen to love them, just wish the pivots were red and not blue. So anyways..here are the specs. I wanted to build it light because I love to go fast.

M Mach 5.7 alum black w/fox Kashima coat and red headset
New Factory Fox 150mm Talas Kasima coat
SRAM XO group
Formula R1 brakes, rotors, carbon levers
Easton EA90 XC Wheelset w/Kenda Nevegal tires
Easton XC90 handlebar
Thomson X4 stem 100mm
Thomson Masterpiece post
WTB Pivot seat
Red Troy lee ODI Grips
Pedals (undecided)

Let me know what you all think. Any advice on areas to make it lighter for the future. It should be ready this Friday/Saturday. I'll post pics! Lastly, just curious about everyone's take on the carbon..would have it been worth the weight..lol

·
PMP,TAN,LAUNDRY
4,324 Posts
Is the pivot seat TI? If not a WTB rocket V ti will drop some weight and still be plenty cushy. Can't wait to see pics of the final build:thumbsup:

·
Bloodied but Unbowed
1,498 Posts
The Mach 5.7 is the only bike I have ridden since purchasing my Mount Vision where I thought "this would have been a great choice too". Should be a great ride.

As much as I like the Ti WTB seats (have a couple of them), the Selle Italia classic Ti seat is pretty light and quite comfortable too. Not sure who has these locally as I have never seen one on the shelf in the Valley, but they can be ordered on the web for about $100.

·
j.k.livin
9 Posts