·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When asked by People for Bikes a few years ago, MA DCR's stated policy was that ebikes are "motorized vehicles," and relegated to motorized "OHV" trails. So yes, technically, you're right, but it was never in writing.

MA's motor vehicle code, however, allowed "motorized bikes" up to 50cc or 1000w to be classified as bicycles, as long as they capped at 25 mph. This has been in place for well more than a decade, but apparently it does not apply to "natural surface" trails or paths.

The proposed new DCR code, pushed for by NEMBA, singles out "pedal assist" bicycles and forbids them from all DCR trails/paths, making no exceptions even for OHV-friendly trails, which boggles my mind and tells me that the "author" of the new code doesn't want ebikes in MA parks AT ALL.

I've been eMTBing on DCR trails since 2015 (for thousands of hours), and have never been told to stop - not by Rangers, and definitely not by MTBers. Some have been curious and open-minded enough to hop on, but most say **** like "I don't need it" etc. Many have been supportive, saying that if it keeps me riding, great, but the majority have expressed indifference. They seem to be unaware of NEMBA's hardcore stance against ebikes on trails.

NEMBA will find itself on the wrong side of history sooner or later, as its membership ages but wants to keep riding. FOr now, they're certainly missing out on a growing potential for new members!

·
Registered
375 Posts
Massachusetts law does not expressly define "electrically assisted bicycle" separately from a bicycle with a gasoline engine. Mass. Gen. Law Ch. 90 Section 1 does define "motorized bicycle" as a pedal bicycle with a helper motor OR a non-pedal bicycle with a motor and a cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters, an automatic transmission and the capability to reach a maximum speed of 30 mph."