Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to pull the trigger on a new bike and I'm deciding between a Lyrik Ultimate RC2 or a 36 Grip 2.

There's plenty of articles that compare them in term of performance with the common theme being that the Lyrik is slightly better in the small bump smoothness and the 36 being slightly better in the repeated big hits.

However there's very little comparison in terms of how reliable they are and how easy or hard they are to maintain.

From the manuals it seems that the 36 requires a damper service every 125hrs and the Lyrik every 200.

However I'm not too experienced in this area so I'm not sure what it entails.

In essence both forks seem to perform similarly, what I'm trying to figure out is which is easier to keep working that way or is more prone to failure.

PS Im aware that there is no hard data and I'm just looking for user experiences.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
Does anyone have any input on this?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
They’re realistically probably equal on reliability but the Lyrik being a sealed damper with a bladder has one more potential failure point. That said I don’t think I’ve heard of a single charger 2 bladder failure yet. As for service again probably equal but the fox requires special tools to protect the airspring shaft and damper rod from damage when removing from the lower legs. Rockshox requires a bleed kit to service the damper but Charger 2 is probably one of the easiest dampers to service. Fox needs chamferless sockets to remove the top caps while rockshox only needs a cassette tool (I’m a big fan of this).

·
Registered
154 Posts
Ive had a few pairs of forks over the past year so this is my opinion.

Grip2 - poor small bump and not good at slow speeds but great hard hitting for when things get rough. a luftkappe helps.