Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding SS for about 3 months (I also do some easy road rides) and I did a ride yesterday that got me thinking that may be I should go lower on the gearing. I am wondering how low you have gone.

Right now, I am running 32/22 on a 29er. I have been eyeing the Homebrewed 24T!! But may be, I should just ride SS more!!

·
balance_fit
323 Posts
My Jamis SS rigid 29er runs a 33x20. I can handle all but the very steepest of my trails, which are mostly loose over hardpack with the ocassional root, loam and baby head.
No long climbs in my area, the longest hill is a 4 section loose over hardpack jeep trail that takes some 5 minutes to conquer.

·
A Gentleman and a MTBR'
583 Posts
I've been wondering the same thing, how low is too low? I'm running 32x18 on a 26" bike, but I've been thinking of going to 31T HBC ring in the front or 19 or 20 in the rear... This is on and off road in San Francisco and the surrounding area. Gear down or man up???

·
Registered
2,144 Posts
I currently run a 32/21 on a 29er for CA Bay Area trails. I tried a 22, but it spun out too quickly on the flat sections. I can't imagine going any lower for than that unless you ride somewhere with almost zero flat sections. I've never seen any trails like that in California, Colorado, or Utah, but maybe they exist somewhere.

As for Stubecontinued... I say "man up". 32/18 is a great offroad gear, but it's a bit small for the road. So I'd leave it alone unless you like spinning like crazy. I live in SF too, so I know you don't want lower gears than what you already have - you'll get run over by all the commuters who for some reason are always pedaling max speed (Doesn't anyone in SF ever just cruise along at a nice relaxed pace? Sure doesn't seem like it to me.)

·
Ride,Smile, Pedal Damn it
552 Posts