Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to build up a low-buck set of competent 29er wheels on a pair of M475 hubs I have lying around.

I've got two options for rims right now, Alex DH22's (16mm wide) and Alex DM18's (18mm wide).

Going to be laced 32 3x, for XC use only, I'm 250lbs.

I'm leaning towards the wider DM18's over the skinnier but deeper profile DH22's.

Wadda Y'All think?

·
This place needs an enema
17,248 Posts
thecrazyfinn said:
I'm looking to build up a low-buck set of competent 29er wheels on a pair of M475 hubs I have lying around.

I've got two options for rims right now, Alex DH22's (16mm wide) and Alex DM18's (18mm wide).

Going to be laced 32 3x, for XC use only, I'm 250lbs.

I'm leaning towards the wider DM18's over the skinnier but deeper profile DH22's.

Wadda Y'All think?
I have ZERO experience riding either, and I've only built a pair of each.

That said, at 250lbs and lacing them 32h I think they aren't enough rim for you. They can be ~evenly tensioned but they're still pretty soft when 'done'.

I'd look for a set of Halo Freedom Disc or WTB DDFR rims--they'll be burly enough for you even in 32h.

Good luck.

MC

·
Registered
7 Posts
This may be a stupid question, but that's the kind I ask. If I want to build a 29er wheel set do I need a 29 specific hub? I have a set of hubs I love and would like to build them for the 29.

I too am also looking for strong affordable 29 wheel options....

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
mbh1013 said:
This may be a stupid question, but that's the kind I ask. If I want to build a 29er wheel set do I need a 29 specific hub? I have a set of hubs I love and would like to build them for the 29.

I too am also looking for strong affordable 29 wheel options....
No, a 29er wheel is nothing more than a 700c rim laced to standard MTB hubs.

·
Registered
3,060 Posts
Listen to MikeSee