Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Obsessively progressing
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have an absolute favorite local bike shop (LBS) in town. The owner is a family man, one-man enterprise who’s been riding and wrenching for 30+ years…and he’s the nicest guy you’ll ever deal with. He’s treated me so well with service and is also willing to work with me on a payment plan for a new bike (I don’t have much disposable income).

I really want to buy a bike from him, but as most of you know, we don’t get to pick how a brand makes a certain model. Some times we find bikes that seem to really suit us, but they’re not the brand our LBS carries.

Herein is my conundrum. My LBS carries the following brands: Marin, Rocky Mountain, Esker, Knolly, and Scott (who hasn’t provided bikes in over a year).

I just started riding a year ago, and have quickly taken on every green, blue, and black near me. The double blacks are the only thing I haven’t felt at all comfortable on so far. I’m riding a super cheap starter bike (Fuji Nevada) with a decidedly traditional XC geo. I also think my bike (XL) is too big for me at 72” with a 32” inseam and long torso/arms.

While I’m still learning, I would like something more stable on the downs and in rocky, ledge drop situations, among other scenarios. I also don’t want to feel like I need a new bike in a year, so if I got something only slightly different than what I have I’m afraid that would end up being the case. I’m trying to somewhat future proof this decision.

I ride northwest Arkansas. My home Trails are rock based, with unavoidable technical areas, and as much climbing as descending. There are no lifts or long run DH parks around here and I don’t travel much. I say all that to make it clear I don’t ride as much enduro/DH as some guy, but it’s not smooth flow trails either.