Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
novice class?

http://www.tbfracing.com/events/mtbkickstart.html

This would be my first MTB race, though I've been riding for more than 15 years. I'm more of a runner (marathons and such) but I've whipped myself into pretty good shape and I'd like to give a XC race or two a shot. What do you guys think?

Oh, I have two bikes - an AM rig (Heckler) and a hardtail which is what I'd do this race on (Airborne Lucky Strike with Reba @ 80mm). The hardtail should be the one for this race, eh?

·
Registered
29 Posts
I'm gonna race that as my first xc race. I road the trails there yesterday, to see what the park was like. the trails were very very smooth, hardpack with a little sand over the top. there are a couple of sand traps though. I road around for 3hrs and could not find a climb to speak of. Race the hard tail for sure, the most technical part I found was the 3" drop from the parking lot to the trail. this should be a very fast race and the 7mi distance for novice should go quickly.

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No climbs and no tech stuff at all?! I'm not a huge fan of drops and stunts but I do like at least a few climbs and some roots and rocks. I hope I like racing because $40, motel and couple hour drive is sounding like a lot for a 7 mile ride.

·
Registered
271 Posts
$40 for 7 miles is just what a beginner race is. With no climbs the lap will probably be in the neighborhood of 35 minutes or so. You have to remember though that 7 miles of riding is different than 7 miles of racing. If you want a more technical race, wait for one. Why not go pre-ride the course for free? Then you'll know if you want to try it in the race.

·
Registered
29 Posts
campisi said: