Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to get into photography
Hey there. Ive always been amazed with some of the pictures people take and have been very interested in starting to take pictures of my own.

Im just curious what a decent beginners D SLR camera is. The local BestBuy has the Nikon D60 Kit with 18-55mm Lens on sale for $549.
Also are there any good websites for tutorials or books.

I read the article that Transcend wrote on the RM. Just looking for some more info.
Thanks guys.

·
EDR
10,145 Posts
I'm no expert but I bought a Rebel XTi a while back. Camera bodies in this price range imo are about equal. You can debate the fine points forever. The real picture taking quality comes from the lens. The Canon 50mm 1.8 is cheap as heck and makes a wonderful starting point. From there you can easily spend 2 or 3 times the cost of your camera body on good lenses. I'd suggest getting what feels best in your hand. For me it was the Rebel over the Nikon. FWIW Canon is more known for it's high speed lenses that work well with action pics and Nikon more respected for it's still picture prowess. As a newbie I don't think it really matters but again...... your choice now dictates what choices you have in the future. Lenses are too expensive for me (or most) to carry two different types of camera bodies.

·
Registered
525 Posts
eatdrinkride said:
FWIW Canon is more known for it's high speed lenses that work well with action pics and Nikon more respected for it's still picture prowess. .
Yea I have never seen any nikons on the sidelines of any sporting events.:confused:

·
EDR
10,145 Posts
senna said:
Yea I have never seen any nikons on the sidelines of any sporting events.:confused: