Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
no dabs
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My next build will be a really big frame for a heavy rider with some specific oddities that make a good fit for a bigger head tube diameter and a bigger steerer diameter.

Partly for proportions (aesthetics), but partly for the beefiness, I'd like to do a 1.5" steerer rigid fork. I'm a hobby builder, and I sold my milling machine a couple years ago. I'd like to buy a pre-machined head tube and steerer or race ring/seat. Anything out there? Suggestions?

Richard

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
rocwandrer said:
My next build will be a really big frame for a heavy rider with some specific oddities that make a good fit for a bigger head tube diameter and a bigger steerer diameter.

Partly for proportions (aesthetics), but partly for the beefiness, I'd like to do a 1.5" steerer rigid fork. I'm a hobby builder, and I sold my milling machine a couple years ago. I'd like to buy a pre-machined head tube and steerer or race ring/seat. Anything out there? Suggestions?

Richard
I want to do this some day as well.... I think I'll end up getting one made for me from one of the local machinist hobbyists. You could get them to do two feet worth of head and steerer tube, and be set for a while.

·
Registered
590 Posts
Can't you just figure it?

-1.5" ID, then figure what you want the wall thickness to be (.9mm, 1, 1.1, etc), OD will be the dependent variable. (I listed ID and wall thickness as SAE and metric, respectfully, so convert as necessary)

Find the stock that has a minimum of meterial to meet the above criteria, turn it down to meet your criteria, and you're in business. :)

·
no dabs
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What has a 1.5" ID? I don't get what you are saying swift....?

I have that the 1.5" standard uses a 38.1 mm steerer, a 39.8 mm crown race seat, and a 49.6 mm ID head tube. Can someone at least tell me if that is accurate?