Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, I'm pretty new to mountain biking but the little I have done I love. Anyway I was looking to get a newer Specialized Rockhopper, but I saw this craigslist ad for a Klein and I was wondering how much the bike is worth, and what year this bike is? To me it looks kind of older. Here's what the ad says:

"Medium Klein (fits 5'5" to 5'10" depending on body composition) Mountain Bike for sale. XT and XTR components; Avid brakes; Marzocchi Bomber shock; Thomson seatpost; slight riser bar with climbing bars.

Attitude Comp Model, dark turquoise metallic with light yellow writing -- beautiful Klein quality frame and finish and BARELY ridden."

What do ya think, should I go with a brand new Rockhopper or this? I kinda have my heart set on the new bike.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
I would rather have the Klein. The bike is probably pretty light maybe 23 pounds. Too bad the seller doesnt say what year it is. As long as its a 2000 or newer bike and it has Shimano XT cranks, 27 speeed 22-32-44 go for it. The only down side on the bike is the rim brakes but thats not really too bad. I am guessing the bike is one of the last American made Kleins and that has value to it. Make sure nothing has been swapped out like the wheels. It should have mavic 517 wheels. Put $600 in your pocket and go test ride the bike. If it fits like a glove I think you will have just bought a great bike.

Ok offer $500 on it but expect to pay $600.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I offered $450 and got a no, I think the highest I'll pay is $550. Unfortunately I'm new to this sport so I don't have much knowledge on the bikes and components.

·
Registered
2,585 Posts