Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
https://images.craigslist.org/01111_exICTyt1xuT_600x450.jpg
Looking to purchase my first bike. Wanted to go the used route to start out and wanted to see if this bike was good to start with. It is a haro r3 shift with dual disc brakes, mono rear and dual front suspension for $400.00(atleast that is what it says). I am brand new to mountain biking so wanted to see if this was a good deal.

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Thats a 2006 model and the bike blue book doesn't even have a value on it. Its not a bad first bike, but I'm not sure if I would pay $400 for it, especially with the components on there.

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
https://images.craigslist.org/01111_exICTyt1xuT_600x450.jpg
Looking to purchase my first bike. Wanted to go the used route to start out and wanted to see if this bike was good to start with. It is a haro r3 shift with dual disc brakes, mono rear and dual front suspension for $400.00(atleast that is what it says). I am brand new to mountain biking so wanted to see if this was a good deal.
Great idea to start with a used bike. That being said, I wouldn't pay $400 for that bike. What's your budget?

G

·
21/22 are good sizes but you need to test ride to be sure. Bike fit isn't strictly controlled by frame size to height comparisons. Riders with longer legs or torsos will need different size frames, some bikes geometries are different as well. Especially as a new rider, getting a bike that places you in too low or aggressive a position will cause you to fatigue quickly at first. Good Luck.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
$600-$700
The good news is you will be able to afford a good HT bike. The bad news is you will be really lucky to find even a decent FS in that range. Marin, Kona, Trek, etc. should all have good options. Keep an eye out for shop sales on new bikes too. I picked up a new Santa Cruz Tallboy LTc at 50% off.