Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be staying with my friend in burbank the next couple of days, but he has to work so I am planning on riding a bit to pass the time during the day. The only bike I have with me is my 32x16 single speed Chameleon. Are there any trails in the area that are not bad for single speeding. I don't mind hiking a bit but I prefer being able to do some climbing on the bike. I have no knowledge of the trails in the areas so if anyone has any recommendations that would be awesome.

Thanks,
Drew

·
Registered
122 Posts
La Tuna Canyon is pretty good for that. Start up the Hostetler fire road, which startes on La Tuna canyon road near where it goes under the 210. When you get to a T intersection, go right for several miles until you see the La Tuna canyon singletrack drop off to the right, near a bench. The singletrack drops you back on La Tuna canyon road. Turn right and ride a mile or so back to your car.

·
GONE
27,470 Posts
Use the satellite image setting on Google Maps to look at an overview of the range North of Burbank. That range is the Verdugo Mtns. As already mentioned, La Tuna canyon (Hosteller fireroad) would be the smoothest climb to the top. La Tuna canyon is on the opposite side of the Verdugo mtn range from Burbank.

You can climb to the top from the Burbank side also, though. Use Google maps to see what I mean.

You are looking at a climb of up to 1500' over a 2-3 mile ride. Steep but not horrible.

The Verdugo Motorway is the road you will reach at the top from any way you go up. It travels most of the legnth of the range. Very scenic from up there on a clear day!

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks