Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Almost Human
2,925 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our local Parks Dept. has decided to go through a master planning process on some land that was leased, but they have now purchased. Manitou Section 16.

Initially I was impartial to the new reroutes. But the more I look at them the more concerned I am. I've noted the issues I have with the and would really appreciate any inputs you guys might see that I didn't catch. FWIW I'm a soil scientist by degree and also a former parks/trail/open space planner. Please be as technical as you wish.

http://www.springsgov.com/units/parksrec/RRC_WEB map10.07.11.pdf

http://www.redrockcanyonopenspace.org/Topo_High_Res.pdf

http://www.redrockcanyonopenspace.org/Topo_Quick.pdf

My Google Earth 3D mashup.
Turn everything on except the reroutes to get an idea of the new trail system.

Thanks in advance for any reply's.

Oh yeah!
To give you an idea of what they have already done and what some of the trails look like please refer to the photos in this post.
http://forums.mtbr.com/colorado-front-range/section-16-trail-luv-716251.html

·
Unpredictable
2,213 Posts
Never been there but there seem to to be too many trails for that area, even allowing for the topography. Have people been building new bits over time to improve the(ir) experience? Looks like a lot of the original trails are old-fashioned and straight-line. Seems the re-routes remove some. The topo makes the re-routes look attractive, maybe scenic and the layout looks sustainable. Soil and local features should be suited to the local trail plan, but it looks good to me.

The chance to be able to ride through sensitive areas, is a true privilege. So long as the trails meet that rarefied standard, the place is going to go off. People will want to go there and to me that means people will take their own advocacy role and provide input with regard to sustainability rather than do harm.