Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Wasatch Stokebird
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi :)~

Joined MTBR a while back, but have mostly been lurking. Pretty stoked there is a women's forum on here, hope I get to meet some of ya'll this season as I'd love to find more gals to ride with.

Meanwhile, I've been riding a 2008 SC Juliana for the last 5 years and am looking to get a new bike this season (finally!) as I feel it's now holding my riding back. Looking to get into more technical downhill stuff, but still need a bike that can grind uphill no problem on the PC/Utah trails. I'd really like to stay on a 26" wheel as I have a custom wheel set that I'm rather attached to.

I've been looking at a few bike: Ibis SLR, Santa Cruz TRc, and Pivot 5.7c. I'm 5'3" with 28" inseam, so need a smaller frame. I got my hands on a 5.7c yesterday (XS size) and it was an amazing fitting/feeling bike. I'm pretty sold on it so far, but feel like I'm right between sizes (XS & Small).

I'd love to hear from you gals who are riding the Pivot 5.7 in either a small or XS to get a better feel on the sizing. Are you on a XS or S frame? What crank arm length are ya'll running? What stem length? What dropper seat?

Has anyone here demo'd all three and found a particular favorite?

Thanks ... really excited about potential new bike!!!

·
Registered
250 Posts
I own a Pivot Mach 5.7c and at your height I would think you are best on the XS. They run quite large and I ride a small and am 5' 9" right on the upper limit of a small but having owned a 5.7 M it is definitely a better size for me.
I run 175mm cranks and would ride a M in Santa Cruz bikes. Can't help you on the XS as I'm too tall to consider that one!

·
Wasatch Stokebird
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks ladies. Will likely pull the trigger on the XS from what ya'll are saying. Can't wait to build it up! Now I've just gotta wait for all this snow to melt!

·
Registered
939 Posts