Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does any on know of a shoe brand that sells REALLY wide SPD compatible shoes. I have developed a condition on my right foot called Norton's Neuroma and I need to find a men's bike shoe that is at least 2E width and hopefully 4E width so I can add special inserts.

I would also be interested in hearing from anyone out there that might have come up with a remedy for this condition. Riding with regulars shoes on flats helps, but I would really like to clip in again.

Thanks,

Dennis

·
anyone else smell that?
2,314 Posts
i wear an 11.5 2E-4E depending upon the shoe. i've been wearing a pair of sidi dominators for about 4 years now and they have been great and extremely durable. i can't remember what size i bought...but 48 comes to mind.

·
Don't be a sheep
3,445 Posts
Slowly said:
Does any on know of a shoe brand that sells REALLY wide SPD compatible shoes. I have developed a condition on my right foot called Norton's Neuroma and I need to find a men's bike shoe that is at least 2E width and hopefully 4E width so I can add special inserts.

I would also be interested in hearing from anyone out there that might have come up with a remedy for this condition. Riding with regulars shoes on flats helps, but I would really like to clip in again.

Thanks,

Dennis
I developed the same problem (Mortons Nueroma) from wearing too narrow cycling shoes. Sidi makes a mega wide and Specialized and Carnac also make wider shoes.

·
Registered
19,086 Posts
Lake makes wide shoes. http://tinyurl.com/tljzt

Usually Morton's neuroma responds slowly if at all to orthotics. In my experience either a steroid injection or sclerosing injections (a treatment that shrinks the nerve) work better. Surgical removal of the enlarged nerve is most definitive and is a relatively quick, easy procedure with short healing time (3-4 weeks).