Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in Western New York right now and looking to get a Mtn Bike for downhill. I talked to a guy I work with who has at least a half dozen bikes and knows quite a bit and he said for where we live a pure DH/freeride bike is too much bike for where I live because there isn't really a place to ride it for just DH.

So I am completely new to this. I am wondering what exactly I am looking for here. Originally I was looking to spend around 1k-1200 on a used cheap DH bike because I know you gotta drop the cash for a DH bike, but now since I am not getting a pure DH bike my budget is around 300-450.

I am gonna be using this about a dozen times a summer and that's it really. Not looking for it to last more than 3 summers. This would be my first bike and I am looking for something cheap I can have fun on. I am super lazy so any riding I'd be doing would be on a trail with decline or flats, not really any uphill.

Any advice would be awesome. I am looking on bikesdirect.com, pinkbike.com, and have been wondering if I could get away with a hardtail Diamondback from Dick's since I have really low expectations. I would post a bike I am looking at but I really have no idea what I am looking at here:rolleyes:

Thanks for the help. Just really confused and wanna get one soon as it's quite boring here and it's summer already.:madmax:

·
Registered
1,844 Posts