Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding 29'er hardtails for the past 2 years and have been considering building a heavier duty 26' wheeled hardtail for more aggressive riding. Prior to the 29'ers I had ridden some sort of full suspension since 1996. I have not missed FS and have no interest in going back. I wish to build a sturdy hardtail preferably titanium or steel with a slacker head angle that will accommodate a PIKE or Fox 36 front fork.

Does anyone have a frame they might suggest in steel or titanium?

·
conjoinicorned
3,525 Posts
i'm with you on steel, best choice. there are literally dozens of hardtails that can take monster abuse, but few choices in steel. the on-one 456 is one of my first choices, azonic steelhead will take some good hits and it's cheap. DMR makes some big hit HT's (trailstar). in titanium, the only choice i'm aware of that's beefy with a slack HA is the cove hummer (or custom...)

my favorite ever DH hardtail is of course mine, balfa is no longer around but the minuteman has great geometry and is so beefy you wouldn't need a warranty anyways...

·
Registered
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
mrpercussive said:
well... FS designs have come a long way since 1996... you should consider them... but if you're not into them then

Santa Cruz Chameleon?
No, what I was saying is that I have ridden FS bikes since 1996 and have had a new one every other year or so. After riding a hardtail (a 29'er mind you) for the past couple of years I have grown to appreciate the simplicity and quietness. I don't want another FS for the moment. I may come back around but not now. I can keep up just as well on my hardtail and don't have to deal with some sort of maintenance issue at the beginning and end of every ride. I'll take a look at the Santa Cruz and Balfa. I also found a Cove that looked to fit the bill as well.

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
344 Posts