Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a set of Juicy 7's on my enduro and was thinking of upgrading to 8" rotors on the front and/or both ends. I've warped 2 sets of wavy front rotors slightly. Can anyone tell me what performance benefits they've encountered going from 6" to 8" rotors? Is it worth it?

Thanks!

·
R.I.P. DogFriend
6,891 Posts
Yeah, it was worth it for me. Since you are in the Clyde forum, I'll assume you belong here. For the less substantial among us (non-clydes), my advice may be different.

Wavy rotors... I have no experience with them.

Performance wise, more stopping power from less input, no more smoking rotors or calipers (Yes, I've had both). No more "Hey, I smell fire" comments from fellow riders. Nothing but excellent braking the way it was intended to be.

I went from 6" hydros to 8" Avid mech. Night and day difference. That said, I think the perfect combo would be 7" rear and 8" front. Little more balanced IMHO.

·
err, 27.5+
4,928 Posts
Depending on your riding and your weight you have a couple of options. I really like the 185mm avids f&r for clyde all mountain and light dh riding. At around 230lb I found the 205mm rotor a bit too grabby when the trail is more xc oriented. It just causes excess brake dive and un-weighting of the rear tire. For full on DH with speeds at 20-35mph 8" rotors are great, but I only ride a few trails that allow you to get cooking that fast for any duration.

Going to 185mm rotors the improvement over 160mm rotors was great. No more super hot rotors or fade on descent. Perfect amount of brake for a clyde.

·
err, 27.5+
4,928 Posts
Dan who rides a blur said:
Do you have to do anything with the caliper mount to change the size of the rotor??? I'd like to go up to the 185's up front at least.
You will need a new adapter as well to space the caliper correctly to the larger rotor diameter. They are cheap though.

·
Up yer kilt!
276 Posts