Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to mtbr. I stopped riding offroad a few years ago, but I've been riding road since. I'm looking forward to getting back on the trails. I've been riding ss road bikes for a few years, so I think a transition to SS offroad would only be natural.

However, I've come to find that sizing on MTB is a lot more confusing than road. I'm hoping you guys can give me some advice based on your experience.

I'm 6' 1", but have looong legs. My inseam is at 35.5".

Would a 19" or 21" 29er be better? I comfortably ride a 60cm road frame, if that helps.

Thanks folks.

·
Registered
748 Posts
I am 6'1" and currently ride a 21" Specialized. I have roughly a 33" inseam.

I am at the bottom of the recommended range, and think it may be a bit long in the TT. I will probably get a 19" next time.

It sounds like you have a small torso (due to long legs) and a bigger bike may be more stretched out.I would consider a 19ish frame, then run a longer seatpost, set-back if necessary.

I do agree, ride both. Try to get a longer ride in. I think either bike would feel fine in a 10 minute "parking lot" ride, but you really won't know for sure until you actually get some miles in.

·
Birthday Collector
2,610 Posts
Riding would be the "proof in the pudding" as they say. Size to the cockpit (Top Tube/reach) more than the "height" - you can adjust that with a high-qual long seatpost. If your torso is really short the 21" might feel really long, unless you want a stretched-out XC-racer positiion. For more "regular" fun trail riding/tech sections and stuff a more balanced but slightly upright position will most likely be better - but only you can really tell for sure.

·
Registered
1,025 Posts