Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I keep hearing the term Clydesdale coming up. I guess I am a Clydesdale. I am 6'4" and 200lbs. I started riding a year ago, when I bought a new mtn bike. I bought a brand new Hard Rock Sport Disk XXL. it was pretty cheap even by Hardrock Standards. I got it for $350 new. I guess that shop couldn't move such a big bike.
My LBS keeps trying to sell me an upgrade in an XL. He says my bike is too big, I took my bike into the store and we compared side by side. When I sat on both bikes in a comfortable riding position there was only a few inches difference in seat post adjustment. He still says I will enjoy the XL better and be more comfortable. That the geometry is different
Is he just trying to sell me a bike? I have a lot of leg, and arm, I wear a 38 length jean. Does that in the XXL bike category ?

·
passed out in your garden
2,849 Posts
First of all, dont worry about labels, lm 6' 2" and approx 210, but lm just a big bloke who rides :)

Secondly, how did the XL feel? would it be worth the money to buy in your opinion? what is your riding like? is it worth waiting a year and saving and then getting an even better bike?

and most importantly, what colour is it? :D

The fact you've asked, means you're curious and thinkibg about the new bike, or just confused.......

·
On wuss patrol
5,050 Posts
Farmer, you are on the cusp of Clyde-dom. Clydes are typically characterized by weight at 200lbs plus, exclusive of height although at 6'4", you are taller than many manufacturers cater to and at the upper end of others.