Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a runner who has been enjoying some road cycling the last couple of years. A couple months ago I picked up a hardtail MTB because it seemed like it would be fun to root around in the woods on the trails. While I'm still a noob, it's been pretty fun and is as fun a change-up as road cycling was to running.

For some reason I'm not that afraid to climb or descend the rooty sections I've come up on. But put a log on the trail and then I'm hoofing it! Log = my kryptonite, ARGH! :madman:

I don't have a problem riding either my road bike or MTB up on a small curb (like road to sidewalk sized curbs), but I want to be able to get over what is probably minor stuff to other trail riders (8-12 inch logs) without having to dismount. When I get up curbs, it seems like as long as I clear the front wheel, I get the rear wheel over without bashing it, but when I see a log on the trail I'm totally gun shy.

How much skill do you need to clear a log around 8 to 12 inches in diameter? If I get the front wheel over is the rear wheel going to get over most of the time without much effort? I'm not sure if I have the timing down for unweighting the rear to bunnyhop.

Additional: I can't wheelie or manual to save my life, but guessing that's more not leaning my hips/body far enough back?

·
Registered
202 Posts
You're right to be nervous.. going over a curb vs a log is different. When you go up a curb, you're going up a step. When you go over a log, you're going over an obstacle. A level piece of ground with a log on it. Therefore your wheel is up then down. Not up and staying up. So when you go over that log, you KNOW you're going to be dragging your front sprocket unless you're goin fast enough to bunny hop it.

·
Registered
248 Posts