Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
no dabs
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
How about this as a Friday fix?

Frame number 13 out of my shop is called "Lily" and is the only real "art" I have ever produced:

It was my wedding present to my wife. She really only needs a neighborhood cruiser, whenever we go anywhere far away, we take the tandem. Before this bike, she had never even been on a bike that fit her and could accommodate fat road tires. This bike fits her perfectly, and rides better than I could have imagined. I take it out occasionally, because even as small for me as it is (I'm 6'3"), it is still a joy to ride.

I'm a lousy photographer, but here are the napkin sketches, followed by what I ended up with in steel and bronze:

Attachments

·
no dabs
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I bought couple different kinds of off the shelf cable guides, but I didn't like any of them. I made the cable guides below by free bending stainless tubing cold, and then filing fish mouths for the right look. They actually work better too.... Also visible is the chainstay gusset, made from scrap tubing, free bent with a torch, then cut to length. sorry the bike is so dirty in the photo....

Attachments

·
no dabs
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I made this butted head tube from plain gauge stock. It would have been strong enough without the butting, but I wanted a place to do a custom head badge. Autumn's middle name is "Love." At the time, I thought it would be cool to use a heart instead of an L...... :rolleyes: Also visible is the machined spacer I made. It is one of the only parts on the bike that was made with a power tool.

That stuff that looks like a bad wax job is a bad wax job......

Attachments

·
no dabs
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Same detail on the chain guard.