Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm in the market for a new HID light system and trying to decide between the Jet blast and Light Motion Arc. The L&M has bother nmh and li-ion versions. I'm wondering what is the principal difference between these batteries, and if its enough to justify the $80 premium for the ion.

Any reason why Jet only uses nmh batteries?

·
Registered
393 Posts
First - I'm no expert on lights or batteries but...

The Li-ion is much lighter than a Nmh battery so if weight is a serious concern the Li-ion may be the way to go. I've also heard that Li-ion batteries are less affected by temperatures than Nmh batteries so if you ride in cold temps Li-ion may have another advantage. I usually ride with my battery in a back jersey pocket under my jacket and have never noticed shorter run times in weather as cold as 15 degrees but it may be a different story with a frame mounted battery.

The one down side to Li-ion is they supposedly don't have as many charge cycles in there lifespan as a Nmh but it's something like 400 compared to 500 which isn't an issue for me.

I have systems with both battery types and other than the weight I've observed no differences.

·
Registered
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the explanation. I live in northern CA so cold temps aren't a factor here. :D

Anyone know how much of a weight difference we're talking about here? I have a feeling its pretty small.

Also if anyone has any feedback on the the 2 lights I'm considering, that would be great!

·
Registered
3,982 Posts
wrinklefree said:
thanks for the explanation. I live in northern CA so cold temps aren't a factor here. :D

Anyone know how much of a weight difference we're talking about here? I have a feeling its pretty small.

Also if anyone has any feedback on the the 2 lights I'm considering, that would be great!