Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got outta the Marine Corps not to long ago. Was in for 12 years. While in I started lifting weights. I love it now, helps stop stress in its tracks. But while I was in Okinawa Japan I started to do some light MTBRing. Now back in my native California with a lot more hills and stepper terrain, I'm finding that I don't have very much endurance. I can pretty much lift all day in the gym then go home and pick my house up off it's foundation (just kidding) but put a couple of hills in front of me and I become a bag of sand. So my question is anyone here lift (to build) and also MTBR? How did you overcome your lack of endurance? I just don't want to be a sand bag on the trails. Thanks.

·
Stop reading...go ride!!!
81 Posts
By all means keep lifting....just swap it up a bit. Maybe not focus on "lifting your house"!!! Higher reps, less weight. Maybe some circuit training, keeping the heartrate up for the entire time. Mix in some kettlebells.....jump rope? Plyometrics are good as well...just something to keep the heartrate up the whole time. Just my .02. Happy trails.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Wurd...Plus what really works for me is some gym sessions I'll use lighter weights, and rest less bewteen sets (sometimes I set up a circuit), thus keeping my heart rate up.

:thumbsup:

·
3,049 Posts
Just imagine the short tan he has. Impressive. :eek:

OP, it all depends on what you want to do with cycling. Your weight training probably hasn't done much for your endurance legs. A whole new plan is in order.

However, you are asking in the enduro racing forum. If you plan to be ambitious with long rides and races, you'd do well to start by shedding 20 lbs of muscle off your torso and arms.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
Change your primary focus...