Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Beginner
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to this, and when I bought my bike the salesman at the bike shop told me to buy a couple of tubes and keep one of them in my little pouchy doohickey when I went to ride. Needless to say...I didn't pay attention, and today I got a flat. When I was ten miles from home. So, I had to call my dad to come get me. I felt like I was 12 again. I have now learned my lesson and will keep a tube on me at all times. Is this the normal learning process?

·
Registered
203 Posts
Make sure you fix the flat yourself, so you know how when 10 miles out. Many of us carry 2 tubes just in case, as well as a patch kit.

The next steep learn for you, is to fix a broken chain. That one is not easy, but WILL happen to you at some point in your riding career.

Go figure out how to fix a broken chain, then laugh when that time comes.

·
Beginner
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I did fix it myself with a little help from my roadie friend. Pretty easy. I've got one tube in my pouchie thing and another in my camelbak now. The chain thing....I ride singlespeed so hopefully I won't have to deal with that, or at least that's what I've been told.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Thanks for the reminder, i need to grab some tubes too.

Today was my first time riding my bike on the trails. I had a blast. By the time i get to my car, i noticed i had my lockout on. No suspension travel. I was surprised i didn't break it. I didn't ride hard since it was my first time out.

·
Terrain Sculptor
4,692 Posts
ThunderFist009 said:
I did fix it myself with a little help from my roadie friend. Pretty easy. I've got one tube in my pouchie thing and another in my camelbak now. The chain thing....I ride singlespeed so hopefully I won't have to deal with that, or at least that's what I've been told.
I don't think you learned the lesson. The lesson wasn't "carry a spare tube". The lesson was "be prepared".