Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yeah, i figure after my last fall...it's time to get some more protection for my fat ass.......i fall hard.

so, just browsing on pricepoint...and this caught my eye, lol.
http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/15619-536_FOXSG2-1-Clothing-14-Protective-Gear/Fox-Standard-Adult-Knee_Shin-Guard-'07.htm

so, yeah...how shitty would these actually be? I mean...damn, that's cheap...but, i don't want to just get them cause they're cheap....if they'll break when i hit a twig...

i'm obviously doubtful....but i'm cheap too... so, if not these...what are some cheap ones that'll work halfway decent (i'm still learning...so i don't want to invest in GOOD ones until i'm certain this is where i want to toss some REAL money...i'm still on a hardtail...so....yeah..)

·
Old No. 7
1,453 Posts
Pads are one thing I wouldn't cheap out on, because a cheap pad may give you a cheap fit and/or slid out of place on a fall. Plus, every cheap pad I've tried has been the most ill-fitting POS that would always slide out of place during normal riding. I've got the mid. range stuff now and love it. Fox Launch shins / rockgardn upper. Try what ever you're thinking about before buying.

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
Those pads slide around like crazy, and the knees are irritating.

I have some pretty inexpensive 661 Comps. They do slide a little bit, and are on the warm side. For the most part, they stay where I want them to. I would like a little knee protection though.

My uppers are a Fox Launch Suit. Fits nice, breathes alright.

·
don't move for trees
1,832 Posts
661s i love mine, always wear them, a little warm, but hey, its freakin padding and plastic, a little iriation on the back of the leg around your thigh area, but only notacable after like an 8 hour day of riding

·
Old No. 7
1,453 Posts
BKnight said: