Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I will be starting intervals in a couple weeks for the upcoming season, and I expect some soreness. How helpful is pro massage for the legs? I can get a sports massage for $35 for 30 minutes, which seems like a good deal. Will I notice a big difference with a massage? Is once a week for the first few weeks of intervals enough to help?

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
Pro's get massaged after almost every ride.

How many can you afford?

How hard are you really training?

Could the money be spent better elsewhere?

Do you stretch? Do you self massage ? ( No ...not THAT self massage!!!)

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the mayor said:
Pro's get massaged after almost every ride.
I am NOT a pro. I do want to have a good, improved season though.

the mayor said:
How many can you afford?
Twice a month, maybe 3.

the mayor said:
How hard are you really training?
Starting January 15, really hard.

the mayor said:
Could the money be spent better elsewhere?
I quit going to strip clubs :nono: quite a while ago, so no.:D But I guess you were talking about equipment. As far as that goes, I am pretty well set.

the mayor said:
Do you stretch? Do you self massage ? ( No ...not THAT self massage!!!)
I stretch, but not as much as some. Honestly, I am not a big believer in stretching. I do self massage, but I get the feeling that I can't do nearly the job that a pro can. And my wife is lazy in the massage department.

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
It does help...how much varies from person to person...and how good the therapist is.

$35 per 1/2 hour is a little steep...but if they're good. Check around, you might find a cyclist specific MT that has better rates.

Dollar wise...it always makes me scratch my head when someone drops bucks on coaches, training plans, supplements, etc....but shows up at races with smoked tires and a skipping drive train.