Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a Cannondale newb. Just picked up a used 29er with a lefty.
1- Is there anything special I need to know about installing the front wheel?
2-What is the best way to properly adjust the Lefty? What adjustments are there?

Thanks for helping out.

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Make sure you remove the brake caliper and its adapter from the lefty and then unbolt the wheel.

I'm assuming you have a speed dlr2 lefty which has rebound adjust and lockout. You can also change the air pressure using a shock pump on the valve at the bottom of the lefty. As for setup just go for what feels good. Check out Cdale's tech documents to find pressure suitable for your weight.

You will also need to do bearing resets. Here's a good thread to check that out: http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=212844[/url

·
Red Rider
148 Posts
Hey Bondseye,

Welcome to the club! A few things about Leftys and Lefty wheels you should know...

1. You need an allen wrench (5mm) to remove and attach the wheel. Do not overtighten the bolt or you'll strip it (very easy for the heavy handed to do). You have to remove the brake caliper to remove the wheel or you will bend the rotor. Good thing is, you don't have to remove the front wheel to change a flat or a tire.

2. A far as adjusting the Lefty, it depends on which one you have. They all have a rebound adjuster (usually the red knob) on the top. Some have adjustments on the bottom and a valve to add air. You probably have an 80mm Lefty Speed of some sort on your 29er and those usually have a rebound adjuster, a lockout and a valve on the bottom to add air so you can tune to your weight or ride preference and you can lock out the Lefty on the smooth long sections of trail or the pavement. Depending on how involved you want to get, you can opt to change the spring to a softer or stiffer one depending on how you like to ride.