Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
CNC Dude
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had the Delerium for about six weeks now, so here's my official review:

I first saw the Knolly line at Interbike 2006. I've been to so many bike shows, been around the block in this industry for so long now, I don't see too many products each year that blow me away. Noel and the guys at Knolly did it this year. The bikes just made sense. Handbuilt frames, made in North America. Four-bar linkages throughout, but done in a way that doesn't interrupt the oversize seat tube. Low standover height. Adjustable BB height/headtube angle. Adjustable chainstay length, for crying out loud. The engineer in me also liked the small rear triangles and the inherent stiffness added by the Knolly 4x4 linkage. I was impressed. I didn't think I needed need one at the time, though. I already owned a really nice bike in a series of really nice bikes. I like nice stuff. I'm a mechanic, engineer, machinist, bicycle/motorcycle/kart racer - renaissance guy. I've owned bikes from Yeti, Spooky, Balfa, Sinister, Serotta, Endless, and old-school VooDoo.

A few months passed, and I broke that frame. I guess I'm hard on stuff. I'm told I look smooth. I feel mostly smooth. I like to go fast, though, and I'm not afraid to go medium-large. I've probably broken half of those nice frames I've owned. I rarely ask for a warranty. If I break it, I don't want another, thanks. So apparently I needed a new frame. Knolly immediately came to mind. I called Noel to ask a few questions, and 15 minutes later my Delerium was on the way. I'm still not sure what happened. He spoke to me in terms I understand, and it helped him that I wanted it really bad.