Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
ol'guy who says hi &waves
2,546 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We may do a ride in 3-4 inches of snow/mud this weekend with some steep rocky (probably icey)descents thrown in for good measure.

I have no experience in these conditions. Clothing-wise I'm good to go.

Tire-wise, I have some brand new Rampages and Klaws.

Which ones or combo would you recommend? Thanks in advance, Fred

·
Registered
569 Posts
I prefer...

fred-da-trog said:
We may do a ride in 3-4 inches of snow/mud this weekend with some steep rocky (probably icey)descents thrown in for good measure.

I have no experience in these conditions. Clothing-wise I'm good to go.

Tire-wise, I have some brand new Rampages and Klaws.

Which ones or combo would you recommend? Thanks in advance, Fred
...a tire with a sturdy sidewall so I can run lower pressure...for ice that is. I do not have experience with the above tires, but would recommend whichever one has the most aggressive knobs. You can use studs, but you don't really need them. For ice riding just remember to set yourself up to be always riding the fall line, riding against this line will usually result in sliding out. Be deliberate and stay away from quick sudden movements and you will be fine. Lower pressure, low center and a low smooth cadence will help to keep you upright. Riding ice is all about slow smooth deliberate movements...outa the saddle reefing riding will not work. Also, look for rugosity in the ice and dirt or rocks sticking out...sometimes you can connect these 'dots' to clear a section or two. You will gain some technical skills that you can apply to your more common terra-firma riding and you will smile.

Giv'r

·
Out there
2,298 Posts
It's hard to say since the conditions vary massively. EG today I rode on really icy, smooth hardpack. Skinny, studded tires were great, very fast. Anything without studs would have been death (I fell over every time I got off).